THE SILVER CORD

Which level is best by Jimmie Scott

Ecclesiastes 12:6-7 (KJV)

“Or ever the silver cord be loosed, or the golden bowl be broken, or the pitcher be broken at the fountain, or the wheel broken at the cistern.  Then shall the dust return to the earth as it was: and the spirit shall return unto God who gave it.”

It was an early morning when I had to leave for my medical test. The normal approach now to my newest road trips is to pray. The prayer is two-fold, the first is for safe travel for all those who are on the same drive around me, and the other for someone God wants me to meet. There is always someone to meet, if we just ask Him. There is always someone who needs hope, love, a smile, or someone who needs to see His Light in us.

There had been a couple of directions given to me since this place was unfamiliar. So, I followed the written information and made the turn as indicated, but found the area to be empty. This was just another wrong turn in my life. This is always something that happens, so I laugh, because I find that God has a great sense of humor.

At this point I stopped and entered the address on my GPS. The newest information said I was about 2 miles away and a left turn at the light was needed. And as it would happen the light was red. Suddenly there was a tap, tap, tap, on my window. I saw an elderly lady dressed in a work uniform and trying to speak to me through the glass. I pray when I am stopped on the road, so, in the continuance of this, God indicated I was safe.

I quickly rolled my window down, and listened to the sweetest sound of a woman from Jamaica. Their speech is so rich and soothing like a beautiful melody. She needed a ride to work down the street where I was going. Imagine that! The person He wanted me to meet was on the road.

She had shared a great deal of her life, in just a few moments. I still had fifteen minutes left to get to my appointment. Her husband was very ill, and her son was having great difficulty arriving to America to help. I listened never interrupting. Then it was time to give her God’s gift He had helped me make, per His guidance. This is about the gifts that are located in James 1:17. The gift that says there is a good gift and a perfect gift. After she read the verse I asked her what a good gift is. She said happiness, I agreed, but asked her if she realized she is a good gift, a gift that God created. Her eyes widened and her face flushed a bit with a smile. Then I asked her who the “perfect gift” might be, and she said God. Yes, God had sent her and I together on His path.

So many I meet through this footpath has received His gift. The most special to me was a sixteen year old who had been bullied. He accepted Jesus as his Savior, and then told me something no one else has before. He said, I am going to share this gift too, to share what He has given me. There is no greater gift than to share Jesus.

Yes, before the “silver cord” is severed, He has so much to be done.  Each of us live in a city that needs Him.  Our silver cord shines and will deliver His hope, love, and most of all, His Gospel of Jesus.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v9XyAMnSh6g

 

 

Leave a Reply

