WHISPERS THAT HUSH THE SEAS

 

I WILL CATCH YOU WHEN YOU FALL 2

 

I am currently reading this book called, “Sometimes God Has a Kid’s Face” by Sister Mary Rose McGeady. It happens to be about children who live on the streets for one reason or another. Many of them are so lost, hidden in darkness, definitely broken with no hope in front of them.

There is a story about this 16 year old girl. Her name is Dana. Remarkably the reason she was not at her home was that her father had left the whole family. She had her mother and 5 brothers. Her mother tried to find a job, but still she did not have much for their home. So, one day, Dana’s mother told her she had to leave. She had to leave! Her mother said she was old enough to take care of herself at 16. Dana felt so unloved.

So, as I read this, it reminded me of how I felt at that same age. No one loved me. There is no difference in the thinking of a mother who throws you out or leaves you by yourself. When a father leaves and does not write or call. No, it is the same. My mother did not throw me out; she threw herself out! It was like I was not good enough for her to love, so she left. The same thing with my father…just left.

She left to a place where I could never ever see her again. I tried to find her, when I was 10 years old. I looked in grocery stores, I looked at cars on the road, I looked on the sidewalks I would pass by, but she was not there. One time though in a grocery store, I thought I did see her. She looked so much like her! I was so excited! I thought, yes they all lied to me, she was still around; she did not die. I so wanted to believe it, my heart soaked up the possibility that the whole world had lied to me.

When do you want to help others? When you hold the same empathy of their heartfelt pain! Not everyone will experience this; in reality, would you want them to?

My mind hums in a wave of desire to help. This humming always happens when the love in me wants to fix everything, but I know I can’t. Then it seems like the hum is to remind me, I can’t, but He can! It is like Jesus humming to me saying, “I’ve got this and I’ve got you!” It’s a warming type of hum on the right side of my head. The hum is almost like a song.

Even now, as I write this, my eyes close and there is the ”endearing hum” from Him. It does not last long, but it will come time and time again in church. When I am listening to His Word. And, then the extreme of the hum happens. The church is praying for someone to ask Jesus into their heart. Or just praying, like for Israel. I hear it a lot when I pray for Israel.

When we are quiet enough, He whispers to our hearts. That hum will come to anyone who is willing to listen. When the storms of unloving hit your heart, think of God’s words to you.

Psalm 107:28-29New International Version (NIV)
28 Then they cried out to the LORD in their trouble,
and he brought them out of their distress.
29 He stilled the storm to a whisper;
the waves of the sea[a] were hushed.

If God can still a storm with His whisper, think of what His whisper will do in you. The darkness of loneliness disappears and His Light is rushed in with His Love. All of the groaning of aloneness is gone, He has hushed it.

 

Leave a Reply

