HEALING EXPECTATIONS

HEALING HEART

2 Corinthians 12:7-10 New International Version (NIV)
7 or because of these surpassingly great revelations. Therefore, in order to keep me from becoming conceited, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. 8 Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. 9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

When illness or sickness is brought to the church for healing, many say that God will always heal someone. And yet, when we read about Paul’s thorn in the flesh, God did not heal him. Moses was not healed from his speech impediment, and Samson was not healed from his foolishness. There are so many of God’s children who were not totally healed in body, but they are healed in spirit and soul.

My understanding is the flesh is weak because of our sinful nature and so it will turn to ash. The Spirit and soul are His and this He will heal. Paul’s spirit certainly was healed to lead so many to Jesus. His soul knew of his salvation as so many times it is written in the Bible. Just once he mentioned his unhealed thorn. He knew that when he was weak Jesus strengthened him in all things, including his physical impairment understanding.

Romans 6:23 New International Version (NIV)
23 For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in[a] Christ Jesus our Lord.

I have seen people who broke an ankle still walk without pain. Their physical body was walking, but when you spoke with them, they were mean. They were sick in their spirit. The more they complained and were angered the more the pain increased in their body. When all three aspects of a human being are falling apart, there will be a cardiac arrest physically and spiritually.

Jesus will heal a sick heart when He is asked to. The sickness of our spiritual and soul filled heart is healed, when we give it over to Him. The physical aspect is important to His Will in a person’s life. Have you ever thought about the physical not being healed in a believer for their purpose? I have and I do.

My own daughter has Muscular Dystrophy. She was diagnosed at 18 months old. There still is no known cure for this physical impairment, and it can be so debilitating. They told me she would never ride a bicycle, or run a race, or skate, or be able to type. Surprise, the Lord says! Here is my miracle, and you physicians will marvel at it. She did do all those things and more. She is still not in a wheel chair. She has a job that requires the use of her fingers on the computer. She has purpose because of her disease. A purpose He has used her to stand up for the hurting and the sick. She shares Jesus with her healed spirit and soul. She gives hope for those who need healing.

I watched my daughter trip more than once on her attempts to walk. I prayed, I cried, and I asked for God’s guidance. Do you want to know what I heard from Him? Do not spoil her. Do not give her any reason not to try. Encourage her with “yes you can”. Rejoice in her times when she falls. Lift her up again to start over. Love her always in tenderness, hugs, and kisses. Lead her to Me when she can understand that I love her more than you ever will. I will bless her and take care of the path she travels through all of this. This child of God has blessed me over and over; He knew how much I needed her.

I never thought in my wildest dreams that I too would be facing a disease with no cure. The doctors could never give expectations or side effects. What would happen next and how my life could change were all up to God. What has happened was never written on a record. God did not spoil me, nor did He give me a reason not to try. He encouraged me with “yes you can”. I was warned that I could become mute on the first surgery. Now, four surgeries later, I can still speak. He rejoiced with me in all things and caught every one of my tears. The doctors have been surprised more than once. Like my daughter, I have a purpose to share Jesus for having a healed heart, soul, and spirit. My body may fail, but right now He keeps it running in the race.

Isaiah 53:5 King James Version (KJV)
5 But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed.

I asked myself then, what did Jesus’ stripes heal? It says in this verse of Isaiah 53:5 for our transgressions, iniquities, and chastisement of our peace, not our physical healing. I believe that is the explanation here. By His grace my spirit and soul are healed. The stripes of the Healer have given me the goal of my faith, and the salvation of my soul.

3 thoughts on “HEALING EXPECTATIONS

  1. I like your attitude and your theology in this post. It’s so sad when people misunderstand or misrepresent the whole subject of healing. Yes, God can heal anyone; but it doesn’t mean He will. 100% physical healing comes with our new bodies in Heaven.
    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Like

    1. HI, Wendy, Thank you for your understanding this. We do know He will heal us, but if we expect to heal our physical bodies all the time, we would never die on this earth. Death is inevitable and thank God for that. In His Light and Love, Joan

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

