THE THOUGHTS OF HOPE

At Christmas there are so many who face unexpected and sorrowful blows to their hearts.   Even for those of us as children of God, we have a high static of emotion.  Not only do those who do not experience that static, they are in the darkness of no hope at all.

As I visited the hospital this week for my Pre-Op tests to prepare for my brain surgery next week, God had a plan.  He gave me a poem to write just for those who He knew I would meet.  I was to share this poem with those who needed hope along with my book, “Fluttering Poems of Hope”.  They were all awaiting surgery during this Holiday Season.

There they were.  Have you ever seen such fear and darkness that permeated the air?  It was there right in front of me and all around that waiting room.  One by one, Jesus showed me His light to shine above the darkness in them.  Each one I prayed for, and each one I gave the gifts sharing Him to them.  I want to share this poem for those who need it this Christmas Season.

A PRAYER FOR FACING SURGERY

By Joan Allen Pfeiffer

Dear Jesus,

They tell me I need surgery.

Sometimes there is that fear.

Your hand grips me tighter,

And reminds me you are here.

Walk with me down the corridor,

Let me see your light.

There are others all around me,

Who did not sleep last night.

Take my selfishness away,

Open my eyes through yours.

Guide the illumination I seek,

So only the Love of you pours.

The goal of my salvation,

Is forever in my heart.

So many of the others,

Need to know Your part.

As you hold my hand dear Lord,

The Love of you enfolds.

Let me share the same,

Of what Your Promise holds.

James 1:17 “Every good gift and every perfect gift is from “Above” and comes down from the Father of Lights, with whom there is no variation or shadow of turning.”

Leave a Reply

