THE GREAT DELIGHT

 

1 Corinthians 11:17-22 (NIV)

17 In the following directives I have no praise for you, for your meetings do more harm than good. 18 In the first place, I hear that when you come together as a church, there are divisions among you, and to some extent I believe it. 19 No doubt there have to be differences among you to show which of you have God’s approval. 20 So then, when you come together, it is not the Lord’s Supper you eat, 21 for when you are eating, some of you go ahead with your own private suppers. As a result, one person remains hungry and another gets drunk. 22 Don’t you have homes to eat and drink in? Or do you despise the church of God by humiliating those who have nothing? What shall I say to you? Shall I praise you? Certainly not in this matter!”

When I read this scripture, I do understand that the message is involving the Lord’s Supper. I also know that some churches do not allow some brothers or sisters in Christ to take the body of Christ and the blood of Christ in their building, if they are not members of that church.

Is this a time of humiliation?   Paul was given the Holy Words of this Scripture to make known this truth. We do not need to be divided. The greatest offering given to me was a “prayer of blessing”. What a great pleasure of overcoming differences. I was welcomed. I did not leave differed, but delighted.

I also think God wants us to understand that although He created us equal in body, soul, and spirit, He has made us different for a very good reason.   It makes me wonder if the differences within the churches could be looked in another way. Perhaps this is a gift of being different. Jesus was “different”! Yes, he was despised because of this, and He was perfect.   What if our differences in Christ are made to delight in one another?   Showing that Jesus lives within us and offers a different way of thinking and studying, but not lacking in the belief of our salvation in Jesus Christ.

“God made us different, not to divide us but to delight us.” Pam Kidd

(Permission was given for me to share this by Pam)

So where does God show us this? My heart says it is where there is love in sharing our differences. We eat differently, dress in other ways, have different holidays, and pray in different ways and places. Would any of us like exact sameness? I mean wouldn’t life be boring? If we look at the Fruits of the Spirit, they are the same for all of us, but the Gifts of the Spirit are very different and fit the pieces God has Purposed.

Romans 1:16-17 (NIV)

16 For I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power of God that brings salvation to everyone who believes: first to the Jew, then to the Gentile. 17 For in the gospel the righteousness of God is revealed—a righteousness that is by faith from first to last,[a] just as it is written: “The righteous will live by faith.”[b]

 

I had to ponder just what God means for us to delight. Share the Gospel as He has given us. There is no set way the Holy Spirit will send His living Word from your lips to another. We will not be divided from Jesus we will delight in Jesus! This is the great Delight of our Salvation. Jesus!

There is a very favorite scripture that many Christians know and have recited because of the last words. Perhaps they forget what the first ones really are.

Psalm 37:4 “Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart.”

How do I delight myself in the Lord? Other scriptures come my way in this, and I will just say the words, you can look them up. “The joy of the Lord is my strength”. The JOY of the Lord! How do you get the JOY of the Lord? You have to know Him in great pleasure of spending time with Him. We have to know Him by the knowledge of God’s great love for us.

“You are my lamp, O Lord; the Lord turns my darkness into light.”   He turns my darkness into light!   He is my Lamp! He cannot be my Lamp if I don’t’ hold onto Him. He cannot give me Light unless I follow Him.

Delight, how sweet the sound; like an aroma of the sweetest scent.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x3gLeCiMJqI

Leave a Reply

